Hate is not a noun!

Andre Avatar

If I may ask, who did you think was here with you? I protest, but I’m not a protester, I preach, but not as a preacher, I sing, but…well you know. Likewise I dance, write, walk, talk, jump, shoot, stare and love; I do the verbs, but I am not the nouns. So what noun am I? To me the noun comes at the very very end of it all. And it’s not over yet. As one who believes, I will and need to keep on believing. As one who hopes, I should continue to do so – actively. As one who loves, I can assure you that I am striving to act on the impulse. But let someone else ascribe a noun or two to me at the end of my sentence. “Was” immediately follows “is;” and they attach to nouns, with perhaps an adjective alongside as a condiment. May I suggest that when we emphasize verbs more than nouns, we have a better chance of getting out of this trap we’re in (together) and can bring about change. Verbs and actions got us into this mess, and only they can get us out. Being saddled with nouns adds to his burden and mine. If he thinks he is stuck with that label, how can he change it. It may seem a deep well with very little light at the top. But if we tell them, “hey, you are digging a hole there partner, can I lend a hand to pull you out?” Just make sure you mean to lend a hand, not as a victim, because that noun will trap you and you will need help before becoming a helper. Be ready to love in the face of hating – not hate; how did that word ever become a noun? The ship is sailing; it’s moving. Waters swirl around it and push up against each of its sides. By the time it reaches the other shore, we have some decisions to make. Please do not see yourself as powerless against what faces you or someone you love. Instead, know that there is energy at work – not randomly, but purposely at work to heal and help you. All life is energy. By believing that there is purpose to it, we can always be verbs for good works and let the nouns be.


Leave a comment